Adding and removing users is an essential part of running an organization, as most teams grow and shrink over time. It’s important to understand these actions, and how they’ll change your subscription.
Each Flow organization has a subscription. After the free trial period, an paid subscription ensures that the organizations remains active and all the tasks and projects in it accessible. This subscription covers the users in your organization and the seat number is based on how many people you’ve invited.
Flow plans are available on a per user basis. This means if you’re on a 5 user plan, you are able to have exactly 5 users. If you add someone new, this will upgrade your plan immediately to account for the added user, and you’ll be charged a prorated amount right away. If you remove users partway through a billing period, you won’t be credited; instead your account will simply renew at the lower seat count (and price) on your next renewal date.
When your team grows and you need to add more seats, an organization Admin can do this via Organization and Billing Settings. It’s only when you go over your seat limit, or you manually upgrade your plan, that Flow would charge you for the change.
FYI: Guest users in Flow do take up a paid seat. While this is something we’re working on changing in the future, until that feature is available you’ll have to consider a seat filled if you do need to bring on a guest.